A common perception is that entry to NER is highly restricted.  There are restrictions in certain areas due to reasons of population composition, remoteness and strategic reasons. Most areas are freely accessible.

The entry of Indian nationals and foreigners are restricted in certain States and parts thereof in the North Eastern Region under three restrictive regimes which are dealt with by the Foreigners Division of the Ministry of Home Affairs. These are:

  1. Inner Line Permit (ILP) for Indian citizens
  2. Protected Area Permit (PAP) for foreign nationals
  3. Restricted Area Permit (RAP) for foreign nationals
These are dealt in greater detail in following sections.  A snapshot is given below
State For Indian Nationals -
Inner Line Permit (ILP)
For Foreign Nationals -
Restricted/Protected Area Permit (RAP/PAP)
Arunachal Pradesh Required Required
Assam Not Required Not Required
Manipur Not Required Required
Meghalaya Not Required Not Required
Mizoram Required Required
Nagaland Required Required
Sikkim Not Required Required
Tripura Not Required Not Required


As per the Circular dated 30.12.2010 issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs, the entire area of the States of Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland has been excluded from the Protected Area regime notified under the Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order 1958, initially for a period of one year w.e.f. 1.1.2011, subject to some conditions.

The exemption has been extended upto 31st December, 2012 by MHA vide MHA ID Note No.13/6/99-NE.II Vol.V dated 23.3.2012

Page Maintained By: 
Shri Brajesh Mishra, Director