Exempted Ministries

Ministries exempted from spending


10% of their Annual Budget in the NER


  1. The criteria followed for exemption of a Ministry / Department are:


    1. Highly scientific Ministries / Departments with hardly any scope for work in the North East.
    2. The Ministries / Departments having no direct involvement in the North East and Sikkim such as the erstwhile Department of Ocean Development;
    3. The Ministries in which case the expenditure in the North East and Sikkim was ‘Nil’ during the last three years; and.
    4. The Ministries / Departments whose Gross Budgetary Support is less than Rs. 10 crores.
  2. Exempted Ministries/Departments


    The Departments / Ministries Exempted from making for the North Eastern Region in the Budget Estimates (BE 2010-11) are:


    1. Atomic Energy
    2. Company Affairs    
    3. Economic Affairs
    4. Expenditure
    5. External Affairs
    6. Legal Affairs
    7. Earth Sciences
    8. Official Language
    9. Personnel & Training
    10. Petroleum & Natural Gas
    11. Planning
    12. Revenue
    13. Social Justice& Empowerment*
    14. Steel
    15. Space
    16. Science & Technology
    17. Scientific & Industrial Research

    * Only 2% of the funds for Scheduled Castes Division (SCD) are allocated to NER. The norm of 10% allocation is applied to sectors other than SCD.

Page Maintained By: 
Economic Adviser